Contacts and STC Information

The function of the Specialty Training Committee (STC) is:

  • To advise and support HEE NE in implementing Postgraduate Medical Education relevant to their Specialty
  • To collaborate with HEE NE in the local administration and delivery of specialist training (i.e. Specialty training programmes, recruitment and selection) within the regulations and guidelines of their College or Faculty
  • To deliver, through an appropriate panel the ARCPs
  • The STC meetings take place twice per year.

Dates for your diary:


Annual ARCPs:

Thursday 7 July 2022

STC Members:  
Simon Patel County Durham and Darlington
Colin Doig GIM Training Programme Director
Ashleigh Murphy LET
Kevin Whitfield  South Tees
Nadia Stock AIM Training Programme Director
Kate Armitage North Tees
Andrew Macnair South Tyneside
Charlotte Routh Northumbria (Quality Lead)
John Craig Cumbria
Mike Jones County Durham and Darlington
Shahid Wahid South Tyneside and Sunderland
Carina Dowson South Tyneside and Sunderland
Trainee Representatives  
Chris Taylor  
Kay Protheroe  
Elizabeth Tarala  


Information for Current Trainees

Access essential information on regulations, study leave, certification, assessment and the curriculum.

Information for trainers and educators

Development and guidance on becoming a trainer, standards for trainers, essential documentation for clinical and educational supervision including guidance for GP trainers,  Trust and out-of-hours supervisors, plus news about the latest courses and conferences.


Potential Applicant

Visit our Recruitment website to find out what it's like to be a GP trainee in the north east and north Cumbria.