Contacts and STC Information

Specialty Training Committee

The Specialty Training Committee (STC) meet 3 times per year.  The function of the STC is:

  • to advise and support HEE NE in implementing Postgraduate Medical Education relevant to their Specialty
  • to collaborate with HEE NE in the local administration and delivery of specialist training (i.e. SpR Programmes, recruitment and selection) within the regulations and guidelines of their College or Faculty  to deliver, through an appropriate ARCP panel.


List of future dates:

Tuesday, 8th March 2022

Tuesday, 13th September 2022

Tuesday, 6th December 2022


The STC is made up of the following members:

Emily Lyon - TPD and Sunderland
Sophie Wilcox -NorthTees
Cath Huntley - Wansbeck
Rachel Murdoch - South Tees
Ewan Tevendale - Darlington
Suba Thiru - TPD and Sunderland
Roger Jay - Newcastle
Hannah Filler/Richard Athey - Gateshead
Ailish O'Callaghan - Cumbria
Becci Wright - South Tyneside
Miles Witham (Acadmic Rep) 
Ashleigh Murphy
Trainee Reps
Amy Gray
Ting Wong
Mandy Fairs (LTFT Rep)
Christina Page (LTFT Rep)
George Thomas 


Information for Current Trainees

Access essential information on regulations, study leave, certification, assessment and the curriculum.

Information for trainers and educators

Development and guidance on becoming a trainer, standards for trainers, essential documentation for clinical and educational supervision including guidance for GP trainers,  Trust and out-of-hours supervisors, plus news about the latest courses and conferences.


Potential Applicant

Visit our Recruitment website to find out what it's like to be a GP trainee in the north east and north Cumbria.