Supported Return to Training

Supported Return to Training (SuppoRTT) is a centrally funded Health Education England (HEE) initiative which aims to support ALL Postgraduate Doctors to safely and confidently return to training after a sustained period of absence.

The programme applies to ALL Postgraduate Doctors in training who are absent for a period of three months or more, regardless of the reason. Those who are absent for a shorter period may also access support.   

As returning Postgraduate Doctors are a diverse group, SuppoRTT aims to provide a bespoke, individualised package for each returning Postgraduate Doctor, rather than a single ‘one size fits all’ approach. The SuppoRTT initiative consists of:

  • A structured and systematic process for planning absence, maintaining contact whilst out and planning for your return
  • A menu of supported Return To Training Activities that can be built into an individualised return-to-training plan
  • Funding to support CPD activities and a supernumerary period dependent on the Postgraduate Doctors individual needs

If you have been absent for a period of 3 months or more, it is strongly recommended that you follow our Supported Return to Training Guidance. It has been designed to be flexible and take into account the differing nature and length of absence, as well as the speciality and stage of your training, to ensure that you can safely and confidently return to practice.

 

School Support Leads & Trust Support Champions

 

SCHOOL

LEADS

CONTACT

ACCS/Emergency Medicine

TBC

TBC

Anaesthetics, ICM

Linda Waddilove

Linda.Waddilove@nhs.net

Medicine

Hilary Tedd

Hilary.Tedd1@nhs.net

Laboratory

Rima Hussain

Rima.Hussain2@nhs.net

Psychiatry

Padma Babu

Padma.Babu@nhs.net

Radiology

Eman Hafez

Eman.Hafez@nhs.net

Obstetrics & Gynaecology

Fiona Lloyd

FionaLloyd1@nhs.net

Public Health

Tanja Braun

Tanja.Braun@stockton.gov.uk

Ophthalmology

Nicholas Wride

Nicholas.Wride@nhs.net 

Paediatrics

Victoria Whittle

Victoria.Whittle@nhs.net

Surgery

Alice Townend

Alice.Townend@northumbria-healthcare.nhs.uk

Dentistry

Ben Cole

Ben.Cole@hee.nhs.uk

General Practice

Laura Taqvi

Laura.Taqvi@hee.nhs.uk

Foundation

Nicky Desira

Nicky.Desira@nhs.net

Josephine Flowers

JosephineFlowers@nhs.net

 

TRUST

CHAMPIONS

CONTACT

County Durham & Darlington

DME

LeighSimmonds@nhs.net

Gateshead

Catherine Bartley

C.Bartley@nhs.net

Newcastle

Linda Waddilove

Linda.Waddilove@nhs.net

North Cumbria

Sally Eason

Sally.Eason@ncic.nhs.uk

North Tees & Hartlepool

George Simpson

George.Simpson2@nhs.net

Northumbria

Alice Townend

Alice.Townend@nhct.nhs.uk

CNTW

Nicola Phillips

Nicola.Phillips@cntw.nhs.uk

South Tees

Hannah Bienias

Hannah.Bienias@nhs.net

South Tyneside & Sunderland

DME

Simon.Panter@stft.nhs.uk

Tees, Esk & Wear

Padma Babu

Padma.Babu@nhs.net